Magnetism 2017 is the premier conference organised by the UK and Rol magnetism community.  It welcomes and encourages participation from Europe and further afield, and from industry. It follows the highly successful conferences in 2014, 2015 and 2016.  

A mixture of invited talks and submitted contributions will allow the breadth of magnetism research in the UK and Rol to be presented.  Participation from outside UK/Rol and from industry is also encouraged.  

The conference encourages participation from across the breadth of magnetism, and has included oral sessions on a range of subjects including spintronics, domain walls, dynamics, vortices, skyrmions and topological systems, spin ice, biological and organic magnetism, superconductors, magnetocalorics and ab initio theory.

We are encouraging abstracts submitted in the areas of thin films and nanostructures, correlated electrons, biological and organic materials, computational magnetism and general magnetism. 

Plenary speakers: 

  • Dr Bernard Dieny, SPINTEC Chief Scientist, CEA/Grenoble, France
  • Dr Andre Thiaville, University of Paris-Sud, France (Wohlfarth Lecture)

Invited speakers:

  • Professor Dr Michael Farle, University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany and Immanuel Kant Baltic Federal University, Russia, (IEEE Distinguished Lecturer 2017) 
  • Professor Hendrik Ohldag, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, USA, (IEEE Distinguished Lecturer 2017)
  • Dr Michael J Donahue, Mathematical & Computational Sciences Division, NIST, USA
  • Dr Laura Bovo, University College London, UK
  • Dr Damien  McGrouther, University of Glasgow, UK
  • Dr Brian J Kirby, NIST Center for Neutron Research, USA
  • Dr Marco Battiato, Vienna


Online registration is now closed

Key dates

  • Early registration deadline:
    17 March 2017
  • Registration deadline:
    27 March 2017